Steak

oliviacow

I meant to post this when it actually happened. Oh well. As it is, I would like to proudly announce that I ate Olivia a few weeks ago (I originally had a random picture of a cow in this post, but this cow is, in fact, Olivia).

I’ll make this quick since I don’t have any pictures, I was too distracted by Eating. Olivia was my old roommate’s dairy cow who was no longer producing much milk (she wasn’t getting bred anymore) and became steak. I didn’t watch that process or anything, although at some point I would like to; she just appeared in my freezer. So my roommate and I decided to cook her as one of our last meals together, along with some parsnips and a salad. I don’t eat a lot of meat, as you have probably noticed, but when you know someone who knows the cow… acceptable, to say the least. And delicious.

Steak is very easy. I feel like I say that about most things on this blog so far, but it’s true. I am certainly not a professional, and I definitely believe that anyone can, and should, cook. The hardest part about steak might be dealing with raw meat. I hate raw meat. Although beef is not nearly as bad as chicken. I’m getting used to it, but I still generally want to pour vinegar over everything once I’m finished to sanitize (did you know that vinegar is a fantastic sanitizer? I’ve heard that it’s all you need to sanitize even a poultry processing center. Free of weird chemicals!).

Steak
Meat
Salt
Pepper
Garlic/shallots/whatever

Defrost the steak (this might take all day, or you can put it in the fridge the night before). Remove the package and pat it with salt, pepper, and garlic (we didn’t have any garlic, so we used shallots instead). Then put it under the broiler for 5-10 minutes, depending on the thickness of your steak and your rarity preferences. Use a meat thermometer if you are worried, or just cut into it when you think it might be done.

The parsnips (which look like white carrots with extra skinny tips) we peeled and chopped up with a little salt, pepper, and olive oil in a pan, first over high heat then pretty low to soften for a little while. Kind of like home fries except sweeter. All together with a big fresh salad, the only pieces of our meal that weren’t super local were the salt, pepper, and olive oil.

We spent a good amount of time (after getting full) gnawing on the bones and enjoying all the fat from the steak. I didn’t used to eat all the fat from meat but somehow I couldn’t resist this. Fat is delicious, and is healthy in a balanced diet – the American problem is that fat is in too many processed foods these days, and that most people don’t get enough other nutrients to balance it out.

This is fantastic. I call myself a part-time vegetarian. Meat like this is why it is not full-time.

One thought on “Steak

Leave a Reply

