Paprika Leeks and Chickpeas

P1030350

Hello again! Apologies for being remiss in posting. I have been preparing for Christmas Travels and cleaning my house instead of writing about cooking.

I should let you know that I am now in Montana visiting my parents! I may have some special Montana posts (venison, anyone?), but am not sure how frequently I will be able to post for the next couple weeks. On the other hand maybe I’ll actually have more time to tell you about all the things I’ve made and haven’t shared yet. Just a heads up.

I imagine that many of you are preparing for some grand Holiday Meals, so here’s a little something to whip up while you are making other more complicated creations. Very easy, assuming you have cooked or canned chickpeas on hand already, and paprika (one of my favorite spices) adds a fancy touch to make it a real dish instead of just sautéed greens and chickpeas (which, by the way, is also an acceptable meal).

P1030345

Recipe from Bon Appétit.

Leek, spinach, paprika chickpeas
2 leeks
A few teaspoons olive oil
Salt
2 cloves garlic
3/4 cup or so of chickpeas (or just one can, if that's easier)
Smoked paprika (a good 1/2 tsp, at least)
A large handful of spinach

Clean and slice leeks. I like them in long strips, I feel like they caramelize a little better. Heat oil in pan and add leeks and salt, sautéeing until soft and a little brown. Add garlic and sauté for another minute or so, then add chickpeas, paprika, and spinach. Add water if necessary, and stir until spinach is a little wilted. Sprinkle with a little more salt and eat!

P1030347

If I don’t post before Thursday, Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

